Writing 101: A Room with a View (or Just a View)

http://www.nyhabitat.com (photo NY-14516D71)

 

I live in New York State, currently in one of the 5 boroughs, less than 10 miles from Manhattan.  Until I became ill and had to move out of Manhattan, I lived in NYC for 20 years, in the same apartment building.

Manhattan was great when you are able to walk around, take public transportation and have enough money to order in meals. But once I became confined to my apartment because of my illness, Manhattan became a horrible place to live.

Parking was a nightmare and none of my friends or family  could come visit me during the day, even on weekends it was difficult. I was a prisoner in my apartment, when I lived in the busiest city in the country, the city that never sleeps.  I sat in my apartment day after day,  looking out my window, seeing the world pass me by, as I tried to figure out what my illness was.

If I had to leave the apartment, I would count the steps required to walk up the block to the bus stop and then would picture in my mind how many steps were required to get to the doctors office that I needed to get to on that particular day.  My social life consisted of doctor visits and occasional phone calls when I had the energy.

My living room became my solace and I can still picture every last inch of it.  It’s etched in my mind and I loved being in that room.  I had lived in my apartment prior to my marriage and then remained there after my divorce.  Once my divorce was finalized, I redecorated the place so that I would have a fresh start.  I love to decorate and to pick out colors.  I don’t look at this process as work, or as a chore, like so many people do.  I was enjoying this process and everything I choice, I loved.

So if I could be transported back to one place, I would love to be able to go back to my old apartment in NYC and be healthy and once again enjoy what Manhattan has to offer.  I would visit the WTC Museum and have lunch at my favorite neighborhood place, which served the best grilled chicken salad, with hearts of palm and roasted artichokes.  Then I would walk cross town and go see the Broadway play Aladdin.

I probably wouldn’t have wanted to live in Manhattan forever, but I would have wanted to leave on my own terms and not be forced to leave because I became ill, went on disability and got fired from a company where I worked for 15 years at a job I absolutely loved.

12 thoughts on “Writing 101: A Room with a View (or Just a View)

  1. Prince Laila says:

    I am sorry to hear about your illness. It’s a beautiful piece. Home is where the heart is, and even if your heart was left there in Manhattan..grab it. it is worth the fight.

  2. MammaBird says:

    I really enjoyed reading this though even as I write that I feel odd. First and foremost I’m so sorry to hear of your struggles and having been through a life-changing health issue myself, I understand some of the feelings you touch upon. As far as the room, I would love to have heard more about the feel of your favorite chair or perhaps a bit more detail of items in the room so I could visualize it more and be in your space with you. (I’ve never done one of these courses so please excuse me if I’m not supposed to offer any points of view….I’m hoping I get that from others and taking a leap here!)

    I look forward to reading more – love your writing style.

    • Thank you so much for taking the time to read my post and also for your constructive criticism. I appreciate your thoughts and I totally agree with what you said. I just read your posts and I can see what you mean. I am transported back to the dark room, with the sawdust. I like your writing style also and look forward to reading more.

  3. joyroses13 says:

    Very sorry about your illness and the hard time you went through..thank you for sharing a personal story like that. I agree I would have liked to hear more detail about your favorite room, but I did enjoy your post!

  4. Just Prima says:

    I like the way you write. First of all, it comes from the heart. Second, I like how you described your own room in the apartment. It made me want to visit that place as well. Continue writing. 😀

  5. Someone very close to me developed MS. To make matters even worse she was an athlete who made her living by coaching a sport. So sad but she has maintained a wonderful attitude. Hang in there girl.

    • Thank you, wouldn’t think of doing anything else. As long as my mind is happy and occupied, I’m a step ahead of many other physically able people!. Sorry to hear about your friend. I hope they are doing alright.

Leave a Reply

