Writing 101: Write about the 3 most important songs in your life and what do they mean to you?

songs

Music touches everyone’s life in so many different ways and really is such a personal thing.  What means something to someone, doesn’t necessarily resonate with the next person.  I can think of so many songs that bring me back to different places in time over my life like Paradise by the Dashboard Light or Oh What a Night, but these songs aren’t important in an epic way.  They bring a smile to my face when I think back about High School and College days.

Three songs that mean something to me in an important way are:

  • From this Moment by Shania Twain
  • There’s a Hole in the World Tonight by the Eagles
  • I Want to See you Be Brave by Sara Bareilles

From This Moment was my wedding song and I still get chills when I think about dancing with my now Ex Husband for the first time in front of all our friends and family.  The night was a magical night, unfortunately the marriage wasn’t.  I believe that when I met my Ex, my life was truly going to begin and that I did belong right beside him for the rest of my life.  But I guess after looking back, he didn’t feel the same way, as he gave up on the marriage.

There’s a Hole in the World Tonight is a sad and powerful song performed after the attack on the World Trade Center in NYC.  I lived through that day and the horror in the coming days and there was also a hole in the ground and in my heart for a very long time.  This song brings me back in a split second to that day and the weeks that followed.  The smell in the air, the confetti and gray ash flying all over the place and the armed guards standing ready on most street corners.

I Want to See you Be Brave is a song I wrote about earlier on my Blog and I think it is a powerful song about saying what is on your mind and saying what you really feel.  I won’t repeat my blog post but I do wonder why some people can say what’s on their mind and get their point across without being cruel and hurtful, while others just spit out whatever thoughts are in their head, without regards for the other persons feelings.

It seems odd that a collection of sounds and words gets immersed in our brain and becomes associated with such deep memories and emotions.  Certain songs bring us immediately to tears, while others put a smile on our faces.  And as I finish this post, Pharrell Williams “Happy” song is playing in the background and my feet are tapping away!!

 

 

5 thoughts on “Writing 101: Write about the 3 most important songs in your life and what do they mean to you?

  1. joyroses13 says:

    very good! I love the 1st 2 songs you posted, so sorry that your ex didn’t feel the same way as you, but I think its cool that you can still think of that as a special song. That you don’t let what happened afterwards ruin the song. At the moment the song was playing it was special for you. I haven’t heard your 3rd song, now am curious to go look it up.

  2. I really like your writing style. I think you put in emotion, parts of your personality, and get the readers’ attention! And, yes, I know the feeling about the ‘ex’.

  3. joyroses13 says:

    I am going to listen to the song tonight, was at a work meeting. Here is a link to my post, I know with so many it can be easy to miss posts.
    http://joyroses13.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

